Home - Medical Information - A Weighty Issue - Pet Bodyweight

A Weighty Issue - Pet Bodyweight

 

 

Bodyweight is one of the biggest issues in both human health and pet health today, and excessive bodyweight is one of the most common causes of both a shorter lifespan, and reduced quality of life. Excessive bodyweight has a major effect on the function of many organs, especially the heart, liver and the pancreas. Excessive weight can also cause secondary metabolic problems such as diabetes.

 

The easiest way to determine if your dog or cat is an appropriate weight is to perform a body condition score. Body condition scoring is performed simply by feeling over an animals ribs and backbone. The condition score is rated from 1 (very thin, ribs are sticking out and visible, no fat) to 3 (normal healthy pet, can feel ribs but can't see them) to 5 (very overweight, can't feel ribs even with gentle pressure).  This body condition scoring is much more accurate than simply weighing a dog to see if they're overweight, as there is much variation even within breeds of dog.

 

However, if you have determined that your dog is overweight or underweight, you should then weigh them to make a record that you can use to assess future changes in weight and see if that diet is working.

 

If you believe your pet is overweight or underweight based on body condition scoring, the first step is to assess how much they are eating. Are they eating a healthy, high quality diet that is appropriate for their age and breed? And are they eating a correct amount of the food? There is normally a feeding guide on the back of the packet to help you judge how much they will need. Also remember to include everything your pet eats, including treats, snacks, natural food, commercial dog food, tidbits off the table. It all adds up.

 

As vets, most cases of overweight or underweight animals are all about calories – either eating too many, or burning off too few. In many pets, especially cats, it can be difficult to increase their exercise, so it is often easiest to focus on what they are eating.

 

Just like people, there are no magic pills to fix the problem, but a calorie controlled diet can really help. If you believe your pet is overweight we'd suggest one of the light foods, such as Hills Science Diet Light, or if they are very heavy we'd suggest Hills Prescription Metabolic diet or Royal Canin Obesity. Another great option for dogs is adding some cooked vegetables such as carrots, broccoli, squash or cauliflower – but start off slowly, otherwise you may cause an upset stomach.

 

We'd also definitely suggest a check-up with a vet before starting any major diet or exercise plan. There are some hormonal causes of weight gain such as thyroid problems and Cushing's disease, especially in dogs.

 

As mentioned above, exercise is also an important component of weight loss, especially for dogs. Start off slowly, and increase the amount by about 10% per week. We do need to be careful building up, especially with very heavy dogs, and gentle slow exercise is better for fat burning when just getting started. Any play is great – running, swimming, chasing a ball.. and it may also help with that human-animal bond.

 

Overweight pets are much more common than underweight pets, but being too thin can also occur. Again, we'd suggest checking the amount they eat and correcting if necessary, but being underweight is more likely to be a sign of medical issues. These are often fairly minor, such as intestinal worms, but they can also be more serious – issues like kidney disease and hyperthyroidism can commonly cause weight loss. If you do believe your pet is underweight we'd highly recommend a check with a veterinarian.

首頁 - 醫療新知 - 體重的問題 - 寵物的體重

體重的問題 - 寵物的體重

 

 

體重是現今人類和寵物健康的最大的問題其中之一,而體重過重是造成縮短壽命和降低生活質數的最主要原因。

體重過重對許多器官都有嚴重的影響,尤其是心臟,肝臟及胰臟。過重也會引起例如糖尿病等的次級代謝問題。

要知道您的貓或狗的體重是否標準,最簡單的方法是作一次體型評分。體型評分的作法很簡單,撫摸動物的胸骨和背脊部今,評分由1分(過瘦,胸骨凸出可見,沒有脂肪),到3分(健康正常,可以摸到胸骨但看不見),到5分(過重,就算稍微用力也摸不到胸骨)。

 

用這種評分的方法去決定寵物是否過重要比光是磅牠們的重量準確很多,因為就算同品種的犬隻之間體重差距也很大。

 

然而,如您覺得您的犬隻是過重或過輕,您便應該磅牠們的體重並作紀錄,以便將來作為比較轉換食糧後體重的改變。

 

根據體型評分,如您認為您的犬隻是過重或過輕,您首先應評估一下牠們吃的份量到底有多少。牠們所吃的食糧是否是健康,優質,適宜牠們的年紀和品種?還有,牠們所吃的份量正確嗎?通常食糧的包裝上都會印有餵食指南,幫您計算牠們所需的份量。另外,記得加上所有牠們吃過的東西,不論是零食,點心,天然食品,商業狗糧,飯桌邊的零星食物,全部都要加起來。

 

獸醫認為大部分動物過重或過輕都是和熱量有關 - 不是吃得太多,就是消耗得太少。對許多寵物來說,尤其是貓,要增加牠們的運動量很難,所以一般較簡單的作法是針對牠們所吃的。

 

就像人類要減肥一樣,沒有一種神奇藥丸可以一下子解决這個問題,但一種控制熱量的食糧真的可以有助達到目標。如您認為您的寵物是過重的話,我們會建議牠吃一種輕盈的食糧,例如Hills Science Diet Light,如果牠們超重很多的話,我們會建議Hills Prescription Metabolic diet 或 Royal Canin Obesity。另外一個對狗減肥很有效的辦法是在食糧裡加入煮熟的蔬菜,例如紅蘿蔔,西蘭花,南瓜或椰菜花-但開始的時候要慢慢來,不然可能令牠們拉肚子。

 

我們當然也建議在您進行任何主要改變飲食或運動計劃之前往獸醫診所作一次身體檢查。有時肥胖是由幾種荷爾蒙問題引起的,例如甲狀腺問題及庫欣氏症,尤其是在狗方面。

 

正如上面所提到,運動也是減肥的很重要的一環,尤其是在狗方面。開始時應慢慢來,然後每星期增加大慨百分之十的運動量。我們也應在開始時小心計劃,尤其是對一些嚴重過重的狗隻,在剛開始運動的初期温和緩慢的運動可較有效地燃燒脂肪。任何遊戲都會有效,跑步,游泳,追球、、等等,這些也都有助人和動物之間的聯繫。

 

一般來說過重的寵物遠比過瘦的為多,但也會有過瘦的寵物。我們也會建議評估牠的食量然後有須要的話加以調整,但體重過輕很有可能表示是健康的問題。引起體重過輕的健康問題一般都是比較輕微的,例如腸道寄生蟲,但也有可能較為嚴重 - 例如腎病或甲狀腺功能亢進症一般都會引起體重減輕。如您認為您的寵物體重是過輕的話我們強烈建議您找獸醫替牠作一次檢查。