Home - Medical Information - Pet Dental Care

Pet Dental Care

 

 

 

Healthy teeth and gums are in important part of an overall healthy body. Dirty teeth act as a magnet for bacteria and infection, and gum disease can allow these bacteria to enter the bloodstream and the body, causing serious health issues.

There are three important steps for healthy teeth and gums - a healthy diet, at-home dental care and a regular veterinary check-up.

A healthy diet generally includes dry pet food to encourage chewing and help keep the teeth tartar free. In some cases your pet may benefit from a special dental dog food such as Hills T/D or Royal Canin Oral Care that is formulated to provide extra dental cleaning.

At-home dental care includes giving your dog or cat dental treats, rawhide chewing strips, chew toys or raw bones to encourage chewing and help keep teeth and gums healthy. Many animals will also benefit from having their teeth brushed, although some pets may not take too kindly to teeth brushing.

During your pet's veterinary examination at East Island Animal Hospital, our vets will carefully check the teeth and gums, looking for any signs or tartar, decay and cavities. If there are any problems we can work with you to determine a solution such as at-home dental cleaning, special diets and in-hospital teeth cleaning and ultrasonic scaling. This dental check is included with every yearly examination and vaccination. Signs that your pet may have dental issues include not chewing food, drooling, rubbing the mouth or crying while eating. Please let us know if you see any of these signs.
 

 

Download

Presentation Pet Dental Disease – 6.0MB PDF

首頁 - 醫療新知 - 寵物牙科

寵物牙科

 

 

 

健康的牙齒和牙齦是健康體魄的重要部分。牙齒不潔淨,就容易招惹細菌和病毒,牙齦疾病更會讓這些細菌進入血管和體內,引起嚴重毛病。

為了讓寵物能有健康的牙齒和牙齦,請採取三個重要步驟:均衡飲食、家居牙齒護理和定期牙科檢查。

均衡的飲食一般包括乾糧,讓寵物有機會咀嚼,杜絕牙垢形成。在某些情況下,寵物可能需要進食特製潔齒狗糧,例如Hills T/D或Royal Canine Oral Care,以額外清潔牙齒。

家居牙齒護理包括給狗狗或貓兒潔齒零食,皮製咀嚼棒、咀嚼玩具和生骨頭,讓牠們多有機會咀嚼,保持牙齒牙齦健康。雖然有的寵物不喜歡刷牙,但是刷牙一般都有助牠們保持牙齒健康。

當你帶寵物到東區動物醫院進行牙科檢查,獸醫會仔細檢查寵物的牙齒和牙齦,看看有沒有牙石、蛀牙或腐朽。如果發現問題,獸醫會助你找出適合的解決方法,例如家居牙齒清潔、特別的食糧、在院清潔或超聲波洗牙。牙科檢查已包括在年度身體檢查和疫苗注射過程中。寵物牙科問題的症狀包括不願咀嚼、流口水、摩擦嘴巴或在進食時哭喊。如果發現以上任何異狀,請即聯絡我們。


 

下載

介紹 寵物口腔問題 – 6.0MB PDF