Home - Medical Information - Ageing and the Mature Pet

Ageing and the Mature Pet

 

 

Like all of us, cats and dogs get old. And like with humans, ageing is not a bad thing, it's a natural process. Advances in veterinary medicine, nutrition, lifestyle and care have greatly increased the lifespan and quality of life for older pets, and there is much we as pet owners can do to make sure our companions are healthy and happy into their senior years.

One question people often have is how to determine the "human age" of a pet. This is nearly impossible to answer correctly – some dog breeds such as Great Danes are considered mature by the time they are 6 years old, but some smaller dog breeds and most cats are not considered aged until they're at least 15. The old rule of thumb is that one pet year is equivalent to seven people years, but this isn't really correct as animals mature to adults within their first year of life. A more accurate equation for dogs and cats is 10 pet years for each of the first two human years, then 4 pet years per human year after his. Of course this isn't perfect either, but it is a good guide.

 

A pet age calculator can be found here.

 

Three of the most important medical issues in older animals are kidney health (especially for cats), weight management and arthritis. 

 

The senses also tend to decline as animals age, and most dogs and cats have some degree of hearing and vision loss by the time they are 12 years old. Pets are generally very good at compensating for any reduction in their senses, and often owners don't even realise their pet is hard of hearing or sight.

 

Mental health is also an important consideration in older animals. Many animals do get a little more confused and forgetful as they get older, similar to people.

 

And all of these changes are normal and acceptable, and are part of getting old. We can't turn back the clock, but there are certainly a couple of avenues open to help animals as they get older.

 

Firstly, older dogs and cats should eat a diet that is designed for their age. A healthy and appropriate diet is one of the cornerstones in a healthy and long life. Mature pet diets are usually lower in protein to protect the kidneys, and reduced calorie, to prevent weight gain as an older animal tends to exercise less. They also have a different vitamin and mineral profile that is more appropriate for an older animal. There are a number of good diets, a couple of our favourites are Royal Canin Mature and Hills Science Diet Mature. Be sure to ask your vet or pet shop for an appropriate food for your older pet.

Anti-oxidants such as Omega 3's are also really important, and will help scavenge the free radicals that are partly responsible for ageing. Omega 3 supplements are completely natural and safe, and contain no drugs. These can be found naturally in oily fish such as salmon or in supplements that you can add to your pet's food.

 

Lastly, I'd suggest a vitamin and mineral supplement designed for mature pets, preferably also containing glucosamine to help the joints. These can significantly help maintain organ function and reduce arthritis as a pet ages. This is particularly important in large breed dogs who often experience difficulties with their hips as they grow older.

首頁 - 醫療新知 - 年長寵物及老年化

年長寵物及老年化

 

 

和所有人一樣,貓和狗都會變老。和人類一樣,年齡增長不是壞事,而是自然的過程。隨著獸醫藥,寵物的營養,生活方式和所得到的照料各方面的近步,提高了牠們的年齡和老年寵物的生活質素。而且,寵物的主人可以有很多方法確保我們的寵物伴侶老年的生活健康愉快。

 

人們常問寵物和人類的年齡如何換算,這問題很難有正確的答案 - 有些好像大丹犬的品種到牠們6歲的時候已算是年長了,而部分小型犬和大部分貓的品種起碼要到牠們15歲的時候才算是老年。根據以往的說法是寵物的一歲約等於是人的七歲,但這並不完全準確,因為動物滿一歲之前已經完全成熟了。一個比較準確的說法是貓和狗的頭兩年各等於人類的十年,然後寵物每一年等於人類的四年。當然這也不是完全準確,但可以算是很好的指引。 

 

年長動物其中三項主要的健康問題是腎病(尤其對貓來說),超重和關節炎。

 

動物的感官也會隨著年齡增長而衰退,大部分的貓狗到達12歲左右時都會損失某成度的聽覺和視覺。寵物一般對感官的衰退都適應得很好,而主人常甚至不覺得他們的寵物聽不見或看不到。

 

年長動物的精神狀態也令人關注。許多動物年老的時候都會變得比較迷糊和善忘一點,就像人類一樣。

 

所有這些改變都是正常和必須接受的,而且也是老年化的一部分。我們不可能令時空逆轉,但總有些途徑可以幫助動物渡過這個階段。

 

首先,年老的貓狗應該食用專為牠們年齡而設的食糧。一份健康適當的食糧是健康長夀的基石之一。年長寵物的食糧通常含較低量的蛋白質以保護腎臟,較低的熱量以免年老動物因減少了運動而增磅。年長寵物的食糧所含不同的維他命和礦物質也會較為適合牠們的需要。市面上有幾個品牌生產好的食糧,我們比較喜歡的是Royal Canin Mature 和 Hills Science Diet Mature。請向您的獸醫或寵物店查詢那一種食糧較為適合您家年長的寵物。

 

好像Omega 3 的抗氧化劑也非常重要,可以幫助清除造成老年化的一些物質。Omega 3補充劑是完全天然及安全,而且不含藥物的,可以在天然含油質較重魚類如三文魚或者補充劑內攝取,這些都可以添加入您寵物的食糧中。

 

最後,我會推薦老年寵物服用為牠們而設的維他命及礦物質的補充劑,最好包含對關節有幫助的葡萄糖胺,對保持年老寵物健康有顯著幫助。這對大型犬品種尤其重要,因牠們年長時髖關節常出現困難。