Home - Medical Information - Kidney Disease

Kidney Disease

 

Kidney Function and Kidney Failure.

A dog or cat's kidneys are one of the most important organs in their body. All animals have two kidneys, located near the liver and stomach in the abdomen. The kidneys have three vital jobs - firstly, they filter the blood to remove any toxins or old chemicals. Secondly, they balance the amount of water in the bloodstream and in the body. Lastly, they produce some special chemicals and hormones, such as EPO, that regulate the blood.

 

What is Kidney Failure?

The kidneys are made up of millions of tiny filtration units called nephrons.  These process the blood and excrete waste, toxins and excess water out in the urine. If these nephrons become damaged, the kidney's ability to do its job becomes affected. Kidney insufficiency or kidney failure results when so many nephrons are damaged that the kidneys can no longer perform their filtration duties effectively.  The result is a buildup of toxins in the bloodstream. This can happen very suddenly due to a toxin or infection (called acute kidney failure), or slowly over time as an animal gets older and the nephrons wear out due to old age (called chronic kidney failure).

 

Pets with kidney failure may display the following symptoms:

  • Losing weight
  • Loss of appetite
  • Increased drinking and urination
  • Weakness or tiredness
  • Bad breath

 

If the vet suspects your pet might have kidney failure they may recommend a blood test.  Patients with kidney failure will often show abnormal blood test readings:

BUN (Urea): This is a by-product of protein metabolism that is excreted by the kidneys.  In a healthy animal BUN is below around 13mmol/L.

Creatinine: This is another protein metabolite that indicates kidney function.  Healthy patients normally have a Creatinine of under 180mmol/L. 

BUN and Creatinine are both affected by the amount of protein in the patient's diet.  For patients with kidney failure one of the main treatments is a very low protein diet. Your vet will probably recommend one that is suitable for you. To be effective, your pet should eat only this diet from now on.

Phosphorus: The phosphorus levels in an animal with kidney failure will often rise due to hormone changes and reduced excretion of phosphorus by the kidneys. These increased phosphorus levels can cause significant damage to other organs such as the liver, and can also result in intestinal ulceration and bleeding. Special diets for kidney problems usually have very low phosphorus, and your vet may also recommend special medication to further reduce blood phosphorus levels.

Red Blood Cells: EPO, the hormone that stimulates the production of red blood cells in the body, is produced by the kidneys.  The failing kidneys may not be able to produce enough EPO, which can result in dangerous drops in red blood cell counts (called anaemia), weakness and heavy breathing. Your vet may recommend EPO injections to boost this hormone level and restore blood cell counts.

 

Other Important Treatments for Kidney Failure.

In addition to restoring the body's normal mineral and cell balance as described above, it is also vital to make sure that any animal with kidney issues stays very well hydrated. Water is the kidneys ‘fuel', and as the kidney function is reduced they require more water to continue functioning efficiently.  Your vet may recommend a water fountain or extra water bowls to encourage your pet to drink more, or in some cases may give special water injections (Subcutaneous Fluids) under the skin to keep a pet hydrated and improve kidney function. For more advanced cases, the vet may suggest a hospital stay where your pet will be on an IV drip.

 

What's the Long Term Outlook?

The kidneys are essential for normal balance and metabolism, and any damage or reduction in kidney function is very serious and must be carefully treated and monitored. Treatments for animals with kidney failure have come a long way in recent years and there are many excellent therapies and solutions. Big improvements can be made, even in animals with marked kidney problems. The long term outlook really depends on how widespread the kidney damage is, and if we can reverse this damage with medication and treatment. With the current treatments, many animals with kidney problems can go on to lead a happy life for many years as long as they are carefully treated and monitored.  Repeat blood tests are recommended every 6 months (or sooner if requested by the vet), to ensure the appropriate treatments can be given.

首頁 - 醫療新知 - 腎功能,腎衰竭和治療

腎功能,腎衰竭和治療

 

腎功能和腎衰竭

狗或貓的腎臟是身體最重要的器官之一。所有的動物都有兩個腎,位於腹部肝及胃附近。腎臟有三個主要的工能: 第一,過濾血液,清除毒素或無用的化學物質。第二,平衡血液中和體內的水含量。最後,製造一些特殊的化學物質和激素,如以調整血液的促紅血球生成素(EPO)。

 

什麼是腎衰竭?

腎臟是由數以百萬計稱為腎元的微小過濾部分構成。腎元過濾血液和制造尿液以排出廢物,毒素和多餘的水分。如果腎元受損,腎臟的功能便會受到影響。腎功能不足或腎衰竭是指當一定數量的腎元受損,腎臟便不能有效地履行其過濾功能。腎衰竭會使血液中的毒素積累。腎衰竭可以突然由毒素或感染導致發生(稱為急性腎衰竭) ,或慢慢因為動物年老,腎元老化導致發生(稱為慢性腎衰竭) 。

 

 

寵物腎衰竭可能會顯示以下症狀:

·體重減輕

•食慾不振

•經常飲水和排尿

•常感虛弱或疲倦

•口腔異味

 

如果獸醫懷疑你的寵物患有腎衰竭,他們可能會建議替你的寵物驗血。患有腎衰竭的寵物驗血報告往往會顯示出異常的數據:

尿素氮(尿素):這是蛋白質經過消化作用分解後所產生的代謝產物。健康動物的尿素氮應低於13mmol/ L。

肌酸酐:這是另一種蛋白質的代謝產物,同樣對腎功能具指標作用。健康動物的肌酸酐通常應低於180mmol/ L左右。

 

尿素氮和肌酸酐都受患者飲食中的蛋白質所影響。對腎衰竭患者的主要治療方法之一是一份非常低蛋白質的餐單。您的獸醫會建議一份最適合的餐單給你的寵物。為達到最佳療效,你的寵物從確診腎衰竭後應只可吃餐單上的食物。

磷:腎衰竭的動物的磷水平往往會上升,這是由於腎臟的激素變化和排出身體的磷減少了。這些增加的磷可能會導致其他器官,例如肝,受到顯著損傷,並且還可能導致腸道潰瘍和出血。為腎衰竭的寵物設計的餐單通常含有非常低的磷。您的獸醫也可能會處方特殊藥物,進一步降低血中磷的濃度。

紅血球:腎臟製造促紅血球生成素(EPO),一種刺激體內生產紅血球在的激素。腎臟的功能有問題可能無法製造足夠的EPO,這可能會導致紅血球數目大幅下降(貧血症),疲倦和呼吸困難。您的獸醫可能會處方EPO注射,以提高這種激素,恢復紅血球的水平。  

 

其他腎衰竭主要的治療

除了上述保持寵物血液裡的礦物質和血球平衡外,確保腎臟有問題的動物時刻保持非常充足的水分也是十分重要的。水是腎臟"燃料",當腎功能減低,便需要更多的水分以維持腎臟繼續有效運作。您的獸醫可能會建議為你的寵物準備飲水機或額外的水碗,以鼓勵他們喝更多一些水,在某些情況下可能會建議給你的寵物特別皮下液體注射,補充水份,改善腎功能。在於更嚴重的情況下,獸醫可能會建議你的寵物住院接受靜脈注射治療。

 

治療腎衰竭的展望如何?

 腎臟是日常均衡新陳代謝必不可少的,而腎臟的任何損害或腎功能的降低是非常嚴重的,必須認真治療和監控。治療動物的腎功能衰竭近年來已經改善了許多,有許多有效的治療和解決方案已獲研發。​​即使有顯著腎臟問題的動物,牠們的情況都可以獲得很大改進。寵物患腎病後能否康復取決於牠們腎臟所受的損害有多嚴重,和我們能否用藥物及治療修復這種損害。以目前的治療技術而言,經過獸醫的細心治療和監控,許多腎臟有問題的動物都可以去繼續過上多年幸福的生活。我們建議寵物每6個月重複一次驗血(或應獸醫要求較短的時期),以確保寵物可獲適當的照顧和治療。