Home - Surgery - Tick Fever - a must read for HK dog owners

Tick Fever

 

 

 

 

Tick Fever

 

Tick Fever is one of the most common and most dangerous diseases that we see in dogs in Hong Kong.  However, although most people have heard of tick fever, many dog owners are not sure exactly what it is, what the symptoms are or how to prevent it. Tick fever does not affect cats, although there are similar conditions which means we should be careful with flea and tick prevention in all pets.

Tick Fever, as the name suggests, is a disease spread by ticks.  Ticks have eight legs and look fairly similar to beetles, although they are actually are a type of arachnid (the same family as spiders).  They usually live in grassy areas and feed by biting and drawing blood from animals such as dogs and cattle.

Tick Fever itself is a protozoal organism (similar to bacteria) that lives inside the tick. When the tick attaches the dog and bites to feed, it injects the tick fever organism into the dog.  Before feeding ticks are small and flat, however after feeding they puff up and look a bit like a fat raisin.  If you see some ticks on your dog that are all puffed up, they may have infected your dog with tick fever.  Read below for symptoms you should look out for.

Unfortunately there is no vaccine for Tick Fever, so the only way to stop your dog from getting the disease is to be diligent with your tick prevention.

 

Prevention

We recommend the following:

1)      Preventic Collar (Amitraz): This is a rubber collar that is worn in addition to your dog's regular collar.  It is adjustable in length and can fit any size dog.  Any excess collar can be cut off and discarded.  The collar should be taken off before your dog goes swimming or has a bath.  A new collar should replace the old one every 2 months.

2)      Spot-on prevention

a.       Frontline Plus: This liquid is safe for use on both cats and dogs.  To be effective against ticks it should be applied every 2 weeks.

b.      Advantix: This liquid is toxic to cats and can only be used on dogs.  To be effective against ticks it should be applied every 3 weeks.

All of these products are available from our clinic, East Island Animal Hospital and for home delivery through Creature Comforts Veterinary Housecall Practice.

 

The Disease

Tick Fever is the common name given to the protozoa Babesia.  There are two common strains that we see in Hong Kong, Babesia gibsoni and Babesia canis.  However, both have similar symptoms and treatment.  The protozoa destroy red blood cells in the body resulting in anaemia.  If left untreated for too long, life-threatening anaemia may result and may require blood transfusions and a long hospital stay to recover.  However, if treated early, most dogs don't have to stay in hospital and can have the full course of treatment at home.

The most common first symptom is a loss of appetite.  However, it often comes on gradually and to the inexperienced owner it may take some time to notice that anything is wrong.  Sometimes a dog will not eat breakfast, but will eat his dinner and will eat his treats.  Then the next day, he might not eat any of his dog food, but is more than happy to eat your human food.  If you normally have a dog who eats like a vacuum cleaner and he becomes fussy all of a sudden, then it is a good idea to have him checked by your vet.

As mentioned above, the other common symptoms are lethargy (tiredness) and dark coloured urine.  Often dogs will be reluctant to go for their regular walks and won't want to play as much as usual.  They may also be reluctant to walk up stairs.  During the course of the disease, red blood cells are destroyed will be expelled in the urine which can result in very dark (rusty or red coloured) urine. 

If you notice one or more of these signs it is best to get to your vet as soon as possible, ideally within 24 hours of noticing symptoms.

It is important to note that although the above symptoms may be a sign of Tick Fever, there are other diseases that can cause similar signs.  It is important to get your vet's advice and give your dog a thorough check-up, including blood tests, before a diagnosis is made.

 

Diagnosis

When you see your vet, please let them know any relevant history including any previous illnesses, tick prevention, if you have spotted any ticks on your dogs and if other dogs in your area have had Tick Fever.  If your vet suspects Tick Fever they will probably order a blood test called a General Health Profile.  This initial blood test will give the vet a better idea as to whether your dog has tick fever.  Dogs with tick fever generally have a lower than normal number of red blood cells and platelets.  Although a good indicator, this test does not definitively diagnose tick fever.  In order to get a confirmed diagnosis, a PCR test (or a DNA test), needs to be performed at an external laboratory.  This usually takes 2-3 days for the results to come back.  Depending on the severity of the case and your dog's history, your vet may start treatment straight away, or they may wait until the PCR results have confirmed the diagnosis before starting treatment.

 

Treatment

Different vets have varying protocols for treating Tick Fever.  There is not one universally accepted treatment and each case will be assessed by the vet and given the appropriate treatment under the circumstances.  Two currently accepted methods of treatment are:

1)      Atovaquone/Zithromax: Atovaquone is an antimalarial drug that has been shown to be effective in Tick Fever cases.  It is used in conjunction with an antibiotic called Zithromax.  This is one of the most commonly accepted treatments in Hong Kong and has been used for the past 6-7 years.  Treatment is usually 10-20 days long depending on the case.

2)      Tri-Therapy Treatment: This involves two injections two weeks apart and a 30 day course of three types of anti-protazoal medications.  This is a relatively new treatment and so far responses have been very positive.

There are other accepted methods of treatment that other vets may use, however we have found the above to be the safest and most effective for our patients.

Whatever treatment your vet chooses, it is vitally important that your dog receives the full course of medication.  If your dog is sick after receiving the medication, please contact your vet to discuss this as soon as possible.

Most Tick Fever cases can be treated at home, however if your dog is anaemic or is very weak, the vet may choose to keep him in hospital to make sure his treatment and recovery have the best chances of success.

Most dogs make a full recovery from Tick Fever, however it is a very serious disease and can be fatal.  Dogs at most risk are those with an already compromised immune system such as older dogs, young puppies or dogs who are already suffering from other ailments.

 

Following successful treatment of Tick Fever, it is advisable to have a repeat PCR Blood Test 2 months after the end of treatment.

 

What now?

Unfortunately having Tick Fever doesn't result in any immunity for your dog.  So keep up your vigilance and make sure your tick prevention measures are up to date.

If you have any further questions regarding Tick Fever, please contact us on 2915 3999.  Feel free to email the manager at: trilby@eastislandvets.com.hk. However please call us on 2915 3999 to make an appointment if you suspect your dog has Tick Fever.

首頁 - 手術 - 牛蜱熱 - 香港狗主必讀

牛蜱熱

 

 

 

 

牛蜱熱

牛蜱熱是香港狗最常見和危險的疾病之一。或許大多數狗主也曾經聽過這種疾病,但很多人對這種疾病的症狀或預防方法也不大了解。牛蜱熱雖不會影響貓兒,但由於她們的條件跟狗隻相類似,因此預防跳蚤及牛蜱的措施也不應掉以輕心。

顧名思義,牛蜱熱是一種由牛蜱傳播的疾病。牛蜱有八只腳,外形與甲蟲非常相似,但實際上是一種蛛形綱(與蜘蛛同一家族)。牛蜱通常生活在草叢,靠從狗和牛等動物上吸血為生。

牛蜱熱本身是一種原蟲生物(類似細菌)。當牛蜱咬傷狗隻時,把有機體傳到狗兒體內。吸血前的牛蜱體形扁小而平,吸血後卻會脹大如葡萄乾,此時它們可能已經把牛蜱熱傳給了狗兒。請參閱下文有關應注意的症狀。

不幸地牛蜱熱並沒有預防疫苗,所以唯一能預防牛蜱熱的方法,讓狗兒勤做預防措施。

 

預防措施

我們建議如下:

1)         Preventic防牛蜱帶(雙甲脒):它是普通狗帶以外再佩帶的橡膠頸圈,能調節長度,適合任何大小的狗隻。調節了適合的長度後,多餘的部分可以切斷並丟棄。當與你的狗兒游泳或洗澡時,頸圈應除下。防牛蜱帶應每2個月更換1次。

2)         滴頸預防

                               a. Frontline Plus:適用於貓狗的滴頸藥水。每2週使用1次對付牛蜱更有效。

                               b. Advantix:只適用於狗隻的滴頸藥水。應每3週使用1次。

 

以上產品均於東區動物醫院及Creature Comforts出售。

 

疾病

牛蜱熱是寄生蟲學中巴貝氏原蟲屬的統稱。在香港兩種常見的品種,分別為Babesia gibsoni及Babesia canis,但它們的症狀和治療方法也相似。由於原蟲會破壞體內的紅血球,若不及時治療,會導致貧血因而致命,因此病情嚴重的狗隻,必須留院並進行輸血治療。如能及時早發覺病症,大部份的狗兒也可接受藥物治療,而無需留在醫院。

雖然最常見的症狀是食慾不振,然而症狀並不明顯,經驗不足的狗主,往往未能及時注意到。因狗兒有時雖會不吃早餐,但會吃晚餐及零食。然後第二天,又不吃他的食物,卻樂意吃人類的食物。但是如果你的狗兒平時吃得像吸塵器般,卻突然變得挑剔,這可能是一個讓他由獸醫檢查的徵兆。

牛蜱熱的徵狀還有昏睡,與平常相比,狗兒會不願活動。由於紅血球被破壞,動物排尿顏色會變深。

如果你發現狗兒有以上其中的一個或多個的徵狀,應盡快諮詢你的獸醫。

要注意的是其他的病症,也會有相同的徵狀,因此獸醫必須進行徹底的檢查及驗血,才能作出診斷。

 

診斷

獸醫會診時,狗主應提供狗兒以往的疾病記錄,牛蜱熱的預防措施,曾否發現狗兒身上有牛蜱,或於同一地區遊玩的狗兒曾患上牛蜱熱等。如獸醫懷疑狗兒患上牛蜱熱,一般會先狗兒進行全面的血液測試。這些驗血的數據會讓獸醫對牛蜱熱有明確診斷。狗兒患上牛蜱熱,紅血細胞和血小板會比正常數量較低。要確診牛蜱熱,血液會送到實驗室進行進一步的測試,化驗結果一般需時2-3天。根據動物的病情,獸醫或會馬上進行治療。

 

治療方法

不同獸醫對牛蜱熱或會有不同的處理方法,不同情況下的治療方法亦會有所不同。目前對牛蜱熱最主流治療方法是:

1)Atovaquone/Zithromax:Atovaquone是一種抗瘧疾的藥物,已被證明能有效對付牛蜱熱,一般會與抗生素Zithromax同用。這是在香港在過去的6-7年最普遍的治療方法之一。視情況而定,療程約需10-20天。

2)三療法:於30天內每隔兩個星期,注射三種不同類型的抗原蟲藥物。這是一個比較新的治療方法,迄今的反應也非常正面。

不同的獸醫會有不同的處理,但一般我們會采用上述程序,因這是目前最安全和有效的治療方法。

無論選擇任何的治療方法,最重要的是必須完成療程。如果狗兒接受療程後有任何不適,應盡快請聯絡您的獸醫。

大多數的牛蜱熱患者,也可留在家中接受藥物治療,但個別狗兒如有貧血或非常虛弱,就需要留院,確保動物能接受最有效的治療已達至痊愈。

雖然牛蜱熱是一種致命的疾病,老年犬、幼犬及患有其他疾病的動物就更加高危,但多數狗兒接受治療後也能康復過來。

建議動物完成療程後2個月重複血液測試以確保痊愈。

 

現在怎麼辦?

曾經患上牛蜱熱的狗兒不會對牛蜱熱產生免疫力,因此您必須保持警惕,確保狗兒的牛蜱熱預防措施有效。

如對牛蜱熱有任何查詢或預約,請致電29153999,或電郵至trilby@eastislandvets.com.hk。