Home - Surgery - Poisoning

Poisoning

 

One of the most notorious pet emergencies in Hong Kong is the Bowen Road dog poisoner. For many years an individual or group has placed poisonous baits on Bowen Road and Black's Link to try to harm dogs. These baits are typically chicken meat laced with pink or green crystals. While the police have made significant efforts to catch the poisoner they have so far been unsuccessful.

The best advice we could give is not to walk your dog on Bowen Road or Black's Link. The poisoner is sporadic but we unfortunately still see well trained dogs owned by sensible people get poisoned. If you absolutely must walk on these roads please consider using a cage type muzzle (that allows the dog to pant) at all times. Fortunately the poisoner does seem limited to these roads, and walking in other areas has so far been safe.

Signs of poisoning include severe vomiting, diarrhoea, seizures, salivating, collapse and dilated pupils. If you suspect your dog has been poisoned you must seek immediate veterinary attention - the poison is treatable but time is vital.

It is also possible for dogs and cats to get poisoned around the house accidentally. One form of accidental poisoning we see too often is when animals are given human anti-inflammatories such as panadol, tylenol, paracetamol and ibuprofen. Human cold medication or anti-inflammatories are extremely dangerous for all pets and should never be given. If you do suspect your pet has been exposed to human medication, or any other poison around the house, please let us know immediately. These cases are also generally treatable but as always time is of the essence.

首頁 - 手術 - 中毒

中毒

 

香港最惡名昭著的寵物急症就是寶雲道毒狗兇徒。多年來,某兇徒或一夥兇徒一直在港島寶雲道及布力徑下毒餌,傷害狗隻。這些毒餌一般是帶有粉紅色或綠色晶體的雞肉。雖然警方努力緝兇,但兇徒目前仍逍遙法外。

我們最好的建議就是別帶狗到寶雲道或布力徑散步。兇徒不定時犯案,無奈仍有訓練有素的狗中毒。如果你必須帶狗到那裡散步,請考慮為狗兒全程戴上籠子式口套(讓狗可以喘氣)。不幸中之大幸是,兇徒似乎只在這區犯案,因此到別的地區散步仍然是安全的。

中毒的症狀包括嚴重嘔吐、腹瀉、抽搐、流口水、昏迷、瞳孔張大。假如你不幸懷疑狗兒被毒害,便必須馬上帶同求診。中毒是可以治療的,但急救分秒必爭。

貓狗也有可能在家中意外中毒,其中一種常見的情況是不小心吞食人類的消炎藥,例如必理痛、泰諾、撲熱息痛和布洛芬等。人類的傷風藥或消炎藥對所有寵物都十分危險,絕對不能給牠們服食。假如你懷疑寵物食用過人類藥物或家中其他毒物,請立刻與我們聯絡。這些中毒情況是可治的,當然,救助須爭分奪秒。